Rural Doctor of the Year 2023

Dr Bukiwe Spondo


Eastern Cape

Dr Bukiwe Spondo worked at Tafalofefe Distrcit Hospital, Eastern Cape from 2007. The hospital is in a deeply impoverished , if beautiful area, of Centane village. It is not easily accessible due to the poor condition of the roads, and with rains even staff have difficulty going to work because of the mud. She was nominated for the Award by the CEO and her co-workers who highlighted her dedication, hard work and caring for people in their community.

Bukiwe started at the Masibambane ARV Clinic...

Read more

2022: Dr Craig Parker Umoya, Eastern Cape

2021: Dr Michaela Lotz and Dr John-D Lotz Madwaleni Hospital, Eastern Cape

2020: Dr Angela Hartwig Amathole, Eastern Cape

2019: Dr Andrew Miller Madwaleni Hospital, Eastern Cape

2018: Dr Mikail Gurland Tintswalo Hospital, Mpumalanga

2017: Dr Lushiku Nkombua Middleburg Hospital, Mpumalanga

2016: Dr Nomlindo Makubalo Nelson Mandela Bay, Eastern Cape

2015: Dr Ndiviwe Mphothulo Taung, Mpumalanga

2014: Dr Jenny Nash Mseleni Hospital, northern KwaZulu-Natal

2013: Dr ben Gaunt and Dr Taryn Gaunt Zithulele Hostpital, Eastern Cape

2012: Dr Kelly Gate Bethesda hospital, Kwazulu-Natal

2011: Dr. KR Adigun Bethal Hospital, Mpumalanga

2010: Dr Mabatho Kekana Hlabisa Hospital, KwaZulu-Natal

2009: Dr JJ Ogole Piet Retief Hospital, Mpumalanga

2008: Dr Munyadziwa Kwinda Donald Fraser Hospital, Limpopo

2007: Dr Gert Marincowitz Tzaneen, Limpopo

2006: Dr Vanga Siwisa Taung, North West

2005: Dr Nigel Hoffman Rietvlei Hospital, Eastern Cape

2004: Dr Hermann Reuter MSF in Lusikisiki, Eastern Cape

2003: Dr Victor Fredlund Mseleni Hospital, northern KwaZulu-Natal

Special Awards

Page: 1