Student Rural Health Clubs


We are proud of the students developing health clubs to bring together students interested in rural health! 

If your university or College has a health club and would like to be part of RuDASA please Sign UP!

Student Health Clubs we know about are: Rural Support Network at UCT, Walter Sisulu University Rural Advocates for Health, Tuks Rural Health Society, WITs Rural Health Club. Click on their logo's to go to their social media pages. Find out more about Young Advocates for Rural Development YARD


[powr-social-feed id="20f36e69_1554469189"]




Print Email


The time has come to celebrate another unsung hero who makes a difference in a rural context. The Rural Doctors Association of Southern Africa (RuDASA) inaugurated an annual award for the rural doctor of the year in 2002.

The award is presented to a rural doctor, working at the coal face, who is judged by the RuDASA Committee to have made a significant contribution towards rural health in the previous year. It is intended to be awarded to a practicing rural doctor rather than to someone who has made achievements in the academic arena. It is also awarded for a specific contribution within the previous year rather than for long service. The nature of the contribution is not defined given the great variety of work and activities of rural doctors.

The award was named after Dr Pierre Jaques, a founder ember of RuDASA and a doyen of rural practice in South Africa.

He spent most of his working life at Elim Hospital in rural Limpopo province and has been a tireless advocate for rural health and the role of the rural doctor in South Africa.

The first recipient of the award, in 2002, was Dr Thys von Mollendorf, previously medical superintendent of Rob Ferreira Hospital in Nelspruit, Mpumalanga. Subsequent recipients of the award have been as follows:

2003: Dr Victor Fredlund, from Mseleni Hospital in northern KwaZulu-Natal

2004: Dr Hermann Reuter, from MSF in Lusikisiki in the Eastern Cape

2005: Dr Nigel Hoffman from Rietvlei Hospital in the Eastern Cape

2006: Dr Vanga Siwisa from Taung, North West Province

2007: Dr Gert Marincowitz from Tzaneen, Limpopo Province

2008: Dr Munyadziwa Kwinda, from Donald Fraser Hospital, Limpopo Province

2009: Dr JJ Ogole from Piet Retief Hospital, Mpumalanga

2010: Dr M Kekana from Hlabisa Hospital, KwaZulu-Natal

2011: Dr KR Adigun from Bethal Hospital, Mpumalanga

2012: Dr Kelly Gate from Bethesda Hospital, KwaZulu-Natal

2013: Dr Ben and Taryn Gaunt from Zithulele Hospital, Eastern Cape

2014: Dr Jenny Nash from Amahlathi District, Eastern Cape


2015: Dr Ndiviwe Mphothulo from Taung District in North West Province.


2016: Dr Nomolindo Makubalo from Nelson Mandela Bay, Eastern Cape  


2016: Dr Victor Fredlund Lifetime Achievement in Rural Health


2017: Dr Lushiku Nkombua from Nkangala District, Mpumalanga


2018: Dr Mikhail Gurland from Tintswalo Hospital Mpumalanga


2018: Special Recognition Award for the doctors of North West for Courage in times of Adversity


2019: Dr Andrew Miller from Madwaleni Hospital Eastern Cape


The RuDASA Committee calls for nominations for the Pierre Jaques Award every year.  Any interested person may nominate a rural doctor working in Southern Africa for consideration of the Rural Doctor of the Year.  Nominations should be submitted to JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING

Nominations should be accompanied by details of the nominee, including his/her place of work and contact details, as well as a clear motivation as to why the nominee should be considered for the award. Nominators should also provide all their contact details in case more information is required. Please note that current members of the RuDASA committee are not eligible for nomination.

The closing date for nominations is 1 July.


The award winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner at the Annual Rural Health Conference 





Print Email

Press Statement: Call for improved cellular network coverage over rural health facilities

Johannesburg, 13 November 2015

The Rural Doctors Association of Southern Africa (RuDASA) would like to call on South African cellular network providers to prioritise the improvement of coverage at rural health facilities.

Although access to mobile telephones have helped those of us living and working in rural areas circumvent many of the challenges posed by the lack of communications and transport infrastructure, health care workers (HCWs) still find themselves in difficult situations when cellular network coverage is weak to non-existent over health facilities. The current situation for many rural HCWs is frustrating at best and at worst, life-threatening for patients. Over the past decade, mobile telephones have replaced the need for doctors to carry bleepers as hospital speed dials are now linked to personal numbers. Many regional emergency services make use of mobile telephone ‘hotlines’, and when an ambulance or hospital is out of network coverage it has huge implications for response times and indirectly impacts on patient survival and morbidity.

Continue Reading

Print Email

Press Statement: RuDASA supports #FeesMustFall

Johannesburg, 23 October 2015

Press Statement: RuDASA supports #FeesMustFall 

Rural Doctors Association of Southern Africa (RuDASA) stands in solidarity with the non-violent, united student movement currently known as #FeesMustFall. The groundswell of activism demonstrated by students exposes an obvious structural elitism. This struggle is about human dignity and equal access for everyone, and it affects us all. 

Continue Reading

Print Email

Press Statement: 2015 Rural Awards acknowledge achievements in rural health

Johannesburg, 5 October 2015 

Over the heritage day weekend this year, the Rural Doctors Association of Southern Africa, Rural Rehab South Africa and the Professional Association of Clinical Associates met in Dullstroom, Mpumalanga, for the annual Rural Health Conference and AGMs. One of the highlights of the conference is the Pierre Jacques award for Rural Doctor of the Year and the RuReSA Lifetime achievement award. 

This year the Rural Doctor of the Year award was presented to Dr Ndiviwe Mphothulo from Taung District in North West Province. Dr Mphothulo’s dedicated work in the service of TB patients and the fight against TB in Taung district is truly outstanding.

Continue Reading

Print Email

More Articles ...